The “Warli” Communication

2016-11-06-11.19.19-2.jpg.jpg

Looking at this picture and wondering, what is this? This is not a portrait by any great artist, but this is the tribal Warli art of North Sahyadri Range in India.

One day, when I was just roaming out, I saw a wall painted with these designs and pictures. I captured these, as I found this really fascinating. I stared at these painting for a while and I was trying to find out, what it is really?

As, I tried to scrutinize, the above picture, first of all I saw a human figure, in that I assume that, its a woman, as the person is having a bun like structure on her head. Also, she is doing some agricultural work, as I saw some, plant or flower like pictures, on the floor and she is using her hands for settling them something.

Then, looking at the picture below, here I noticed a village scene, where there is a hut, a group of people making some pyramid like structure, someone playing some musical instruments, people dancing, some people simple lying down, some tree like structure and birds too.

These ancient paintings were something worth. Earlier, when there was no means of communication, people use to draw pictures on floors, walls or on stones, to communicate and use pictures as language. Maybe, this was also one of them, but in a modified version, with some more signs and symbols, and with a message to give.

img_20161107_124259.jpg

These paintings look really beautiful, but if we look at these pictures closely, there is a very beautiful meaning in every Warli painting. After, getting information from sources, I came to know, that this is a different language, for which we should know the basic alphabets, to understand the pure meaning of a Warli painting.

We can notice, basically circles, triangles and squares are used in the painting.The circle and triangle come from their observation of nature, the circle representing the sun and the moon, the triangle derived from mountains and pointed trees.Only the square seems to obey a different logic and seems to be a human invention/creation as seen in the windows of the huts, in the above picture.

The central motif in these ritual paintings is surrounded by scenes portraying hunting, fishing and farming, festivals and dances, trees and animals. Human and animal bodies are represented by two triangles joined at the tip; the upper triangle depicts the trunk and the lower triangle the pelvis.Their precarious equilibrium symbolises the balance of the universe, and of the couple, and has the practical and amusing advantage of animating the bodies.

One of the central striking aspect of many Warli painting is the “Tarpa dance”- the tarpa, a trumpet like instrument, is played in turns by different men. Men and women entwine their hands and move in a circle around the tarpa player.The dancer while dancing takes a long turn in the audience and tries to encircle them for fun. The circle formation of the dancers is also said to be a resemble the circle of life.

So, now whenever you will see a Warli art, I hopefully think that, you will definitely try to understand, the beautiful and the deep message in that painting.

There are many things to notice around you, I noticed these wall paintings, while roaming with my friends. This is a very beautiful and creative side of the tribal society, which we the modernised and urbanised society thinks are backward and inferior. So just open your eyes and watch the real beauty of the world around you.

complete-guide-to-warli-painting-tutorials-28

15 Comments

  1. My dear Astha,
    You have started writing such an amazing and meaningful article on Worli art,I was astonished to see that who is the writer,but I observed that it is no one but Only Astha has written it.Keep it up and May God bless you my beloved.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Astha singh it’s really amazing I mean you have really worked alot on this that can be seen and I always appreciate and admire your work and efforts and I hope to see you there where you wish to be.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for this post. You introduced me to something new, something I was completely unaware of. Those paintings are beautiful and elegant. It makes me think of the people who painted them. I feel closer to them when looking at them. Their art reached and touched me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. These are some kind of Indian art. You can seach on Google for more paintings. There is a lot of creative in these pictures. By the way thank you for your feedbacks. Glad you liked my article. This means a lot to me, I’m earning a lot of blessings and compliments by this. Thank you once again. 🙂

      Like

  4. So much information in few words, You are not just writing stuff but also spending time thinking about them and i can see that in your work….Let me describe YOU in one word : “ARTIST”…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

